Boys Varsity Wrestling · Boys Varsity Wrestling finishes 2nd place at Hnac Tournament @ Triton

  Place Points
Triton High School 1st 242
LaVille High School 2nd 219
Winamac Community High School 3rd 173
Knox High School 4th 130
North Judson-San Pierre High School 5th 114
Caston High School 6th 112
Pioneer High School 7th 48
Culver Community High School 8th 45

CULVER, IN. – The varsity wrestling team participated in the Hoosier North Athletic Conference Championships over the weekend.
The Lancers came home with five weight class champions and three runner-up spots.
Matthew Hominiuk (106 pound weight class), Dawson Leed (126), Nick Felke (138), Anthony Hatter (220), and Alex Cartwright (285) all claimed weight class championships. All five were also selected All-HNAC First-Team.
Ethan Roberts (132), Devin Kaser (170), and Matt Brown (182) each finished in second place to earn crucial points for LaVille.
“I was extremely proud of our team finishing in second!,” said LaVille coach Sean Webb. “We were only 23 points away from the lead. A few matches that would of turned out differently and a couple of wrestlers make a few more adjustments, we would be contending for a championship. This was the best showing we have had at conference since Mike Bottorff has been coaching.
“Matt Hominiuk, Dawson Leed, Nick Felke, Anthony Hatter, and Alex Cartwright were all expecting to be a conference champions. I also wanted to mention Ethan Roberts, Devin Kaser, and Matt Brown for finishing second. Nick Felke and Anthony Hatter had their best match of the year. This was a great tournament to go into sectionals having everybody wrestling their best.”
LaVille prepares for the Plymouth Sectional on Saturday Jan. 27. The first matches are set to begin at 9 a.m.

* * * * * * *

Triton 242, LaVille 219, Winamac 173, Knox 130, North Judson 114, Caston 112, Pioneer 48, Culver Community 45

Individual Weight Class Results
106: Matthew Hominiuk, 1st place Conf. Champ, 3-0 by ff
113: NA
120: Jose Torres, 5th Place, 2-2
126: Dawson Leed, 1st Place Conf. Champ, 3-0 (Pin and a Major Decision)
132: Ethan Roberts, 2nd Place, 2-1( Pin)
138: Nick Felke, 1st Place Conf. Champ, 3-0 ( 2 Pins)
145: Cody Wireman, 4th place, 2-2 (1 Pin)
152: NA
160: NA
170: Devin Kaser, 2nd Place 2-1, ( Pin)
182: Matt Brown, 2nd Place 2-1, (Pin)
195: Jouge Esguerra, 6th Place, 1-3
220: Anthony Hatter, 1st Place Conf. Champ, 3-0 (2 Pins)
285: Alex Cartwright, 1st Place Conf. Champ, 3-0 (2 Pins)